jump to navigation

2JZduino Installation 2010/05/01

Posted by Michael in 2JZduino.
trackback

Just posting to show a few pictures of the 2JZduino box installed in the engine bay, and the LCD in the interior. After significant struggles with wire management I found a way to re-arrange connectors in the stock ECU enclosure so that most of the 2JZduino box fits inside. Some of the injection moulded box was removed (I’m not proud of this, but it does fit).

The LCD screen on the interior is wired to the engine bay via 12-conductor 20 gauge shielded cable.


More details on the wiring connections in a future post.

Comments»

1. Brandon Park - 2010/05/28

This is great work! I am purchasing a Arduino Mega board today. I have a v8 that I would love to build a similar project for, would you be so kind as to share your mod schematics and code? I think that as far as the code goes I would just have to duplicate the routines for an additional two injectors? At any rate, thanks in advance im excited to start building this up. I would be happy to share all my experiences working on the v8 and troubleshooting (once I can build the platform).

Michael - 2010/05/29

@Brandon – schematics for various portions and snippets of code can be found in other blog posts. I do intend to make a more complete package of schematics and code available once it’s a little further along in development. I just haven’t had the time yet to create such a package (and the code is still changing fairly rapidly).

2. Brandon Park - 2010/05/31

Michael,

I have been digging into the Arduino Mega board schematics and looking at your code snippets. At first glance the Mega only has 6 hardware interrupts but I look at the spec sheet on the ATMega1280 processor ( http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc2549.pdf ) and it seems to have many more interrupts than is used on the Arduino Mega artwork.

I believe you are using digital I/O pins (D21) which is INT0 and continues up thru INT5 pwm I/O (D3). (if I’m wrong please correct me).

Since my v8 uses 8 injectors, and the CPU has INT 6 (CPU chip Pin 8) and INT7 (CPU chip Pin 9). It seems that I only need to expand the Interupt Handler for the Injectors to also call on INT6 and INT7.

For Example:
ISR(INT6_vect) { // Ext Interrupt 6 on CPU chip Pin 8
h_InjectorChange(0);
};

(again please feel free to correct me)

I also need to get these two pins to the outside world by substituting these two signals with rework to jumper them in place of some other two pins on one of the Headers, or by reworking (modifying) the board and add a small two to four pin header for expanded interupt I/O signal inputs.

My Mega and shield boards are coming tomorrow and I cant wait to get started.

Thanks again!

3. Michael - 2010/05/31

Correct, the Arduino Mega does not expose all digital i/o pins available on the ATMega1280. Since starting this project I learned of the Seeeduino Mega which exposes an additional 16 digital I/Os in a smaller form factor… I can’t seem to find a pin map however to match with the 1280 ports.
Seeduino Mega: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/seeeduino-mega-fully-assembled-p-438.html?cPath=27

(Incidentally, if I ever convert my design to a PCB I think I would do it as a shield for the Seeeduino Mega.)

I just made a new blog post with a .pdf of the pin assignments I’m using for 2JZDuino. Have a look. It will show you injectors 1-4 on Port D0..3, injectors 5-6 on PortE4..5.

Your example ISR for a 7th and 8th injector is correct in principle… the argument to h_InjectorChange(byte) identifies the injector #. So you would call “h_InjectorChange(6)” (the 7th injector) for the INT6_vect interrupt.

However, there are other expansions necessary for scaling the 7th and 8th injectors. I haven’t posted the details yet, but scaling injector signals and delaying crank & cam signals is done by scheduling a future event in the Output Compare Registers (setting OCRnx = T_now + T_delay). Injectors 1-3 use Timer1 A/B/C. Injectors 4-6 use Timer3 A/B/C. Cam sensor uses Timer4 A&B. Crank sensor uses Timer5 A&B. Timer4C and Timer5C would be available for use with a 7th and 8th injector.

Thanks for posting. It’s nice to know that somebody else out there is finding my work useful. I’d be happy to have you share your findings and experiences (perhaps on this same blog). Which v8 are you working with?

Michael - 2010/05/31
Brandon park - 2010/05/31

I appreciate the update, looking at the seeeduino docs now. It looks like they Expose more signals, which is great. My arduino mega will be here tomorrow and I have installed the IDE. I can’t wait to start looking deeper in the code to accomodate the extra injectors. I actually have two v8 cars I will be working on, a corvette and a crown Victoria.

4. Brandon Park - 2010/06/03

Minor update: my mega and shield have arrived! Im powering it up and looking at communications with the pc. Im also starting the injector drive layout on the shield, which should be completed this weekend. If you send me an email Ill send you some pics. I know you said the code is evolving quickly.. is there anyway I can get an alpha version for initial testing on my new board? I have the IDE installed on my laptop and am eager to dig in!

Thanks!

Michael - 2010/06/03

I had some success this evening with my idle issues, so I put together a release package of the code (v0.1 Alpha). See my latest post for an explanation and a download link.

5. Chris - 2010/06/20

I just recently found your project page and it looks incredible. I have my own project I’m in the initial planning stages of, using an arduino to control a tuneable alchohol injection kit for my supercharged Trans Am. I want to thank you for posting your work online, I look forward to following your progress.

6. Michael - 2010/06/20

Thanks for the interest Chris. Be sure to share your progress. The Arduino community seems lacking in engine performance applications.

Chris - 2010/06/24

Thank you Michael. I started a blog, here just to start collecting my thoughts and eventually keep a record. Right now it doesn’t have much in it though. Basic information and an initial plan posted. http://asterslog.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

